Merrymouth: Wenlock Hill Album Trailer

Written by on March 18, 2014

Merrymouth are a three piece folk-orientated band featuring Ocean Colour Scene songwriter and vocalist Simon Fowler (guitar/vocals), Dan Sealey (guitar/piano/vocals) & Adam Barry (piano/organ/vocals).

Lending their decades of first class musicianship, Merrymouth were joined in the studio by multi award winning folk musicians John McCusker and Andy Cutting in 2012 to perform on their critically acclaimed debut album, the self titled, ‘Merrymouth’. They toured the album throughout 2012 and 2013, including performances at both BBC Radio 2’s CarFest’s, The Mosely Folk Festival, and The Edinburgh Fringe Festival

After signing to Navigator Records, 2014 will see the band return with their second album, “Wenlock Hill”, a collection of new songs, which once again features John McCusker (Violin), a special guest appearance from Chas Hodges (Piano) of Chas & Dave, Catherine Harper (Cello), Andy Derrick (Trombone), Hugh Thomas (Clarinet), Anthony Jones (Muted Trumpet) and Nick Lyndon (Double Bass) along with a full UK and Ireland tour to support the release throughout the Spring and Autumn.

Tracklisitng: All songs are written by Fowler, unless stated.

1. Wenlock Hill
2. Salt Breeze
3. Blink Of An Eye (Sealey)
4. Without You
5. I Am The Resurrection (Ian Brown and John Squire)
6. That Man
7. Teashop Serande
8. Duchess (The Stranglers)
9. He Was A Friend Of Mine (Trad, new words and arrangement Jim McGuinn, additional lyrics by Fowler/Sealey/Barry)
10. If You Follow
11. The Ragged Spiral (Fowler/Sealey)

The lyrics to the song He Was A Friend Of Mine are adapted by the band (Fowler/Sealey/Barry) to be about the killing of John Lennon

For more information visit:
Follow us at Facebook: merrymouthband & Twitter: @merrymouthband

Tagged as

Radio Warwickshire

Current track